Attila the Hun

Attila

It’s just dawned on me that all of the art which I have posted on this blog has been paleontology-related. It’s about time that I did some ancient illustration.

For my first subject, I have chosen a character that I became fascinated with when I was in high school, and am still fascinated with to the present day – Attila the Hun (406-453 AD). This is actually the second drawing that I made of him, way back in 2006 – the first drawing wasn’t that good, but it had more or less the same theme. Allow me to describe his appearance in some detail. Upon his head, he wears a gold ribbon. Hunnic kings and chiefs wore crowns, but since Attila was a bit more simplistic, I gave him a gold ribbon instead. Around his neck is a mirror medallion, which was used by the Huns and other steppe tribes to ward off evil spirits and bad luck. Upon his shoulders, he wears a mantle of black fur.

Attila terrorized Rome from 441 onwards, when he launched his first invasion of the Eastern Roman Empire (during the 5th Century AD, Rome was split in two, a Western half and an eastern half). He conquered an area stretching from the northern Caucasus Mountains into eastern France and northern Italy. He died in 453 AD, reportedly of a hemorrhage, although several historians have speculated that he was assassinated.

This drawing was made entirely with No.2 pencil. Hope you enjoy.



Categories: History, Uncategorized

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

3 replies

Leave a comment