Home » Paleontology » Requests for articles and artwork

Requests for articles and artwork

Categories

Archives

A while back, I asked you, the reader, if you had any requests for articles and artwork that you would like me to do, but I received no reply. However, I recently looked at the search terms that come up on this blog’s administration page. Most of the terms concern subjects that I’ve already written about or illustrated, but there were a few others on subjects that I haven’t touched yet, or have only just alluded to. Terms which showed up frequently were (in order of frequency):

  • Alamosaurus (12)
  • Caenagnathus / Chirostenotes (9)
  • Pterosaurs (8)
  • Liopleurodon (7)
  • Mosasaurs (6)
  • Dakotaraptor (5)
  • Velociraptor (in color) (5)
  • Suchomimus (4)
  • Carnotaurus (3)
  • Oviraptor (3)

 

Others caught my interest as potential future art or writing projects, including:

  • Abelisaur
  • Allosaurus courting
  • Allosaurus head
  • Allosaurus walking
  • Australovenator
  • Deinonychus
  • Dinosaurs of Texas
  • Dracorex head
  • Elasmosaurus
  • Iguanodon head
  • Neovenator
  • Pachycephalosaurus keeping shelter
  • Styracosaurus
  • Triceratops eating
  • Tyrannosaurus juvenile
  • Lacrimal horns on dinosaurs
  • Mesozoic turtles
  • What dinosaurs lived on Long Island?

The last three sound like interesting research projects. Anyway, based upon what I have seen, I think that I can gauge what you would like me to do. So, I’m treating these statistics pretty much like a to-do schedule. Right now, I’m really hammering on a super-detailed drawing of a full-body T. rex, which I hope to have finished within one or two weeks, and then put up here for you to admire and comment on. After that, I’ll focus on the items on these two lists – the “frequency list” will take priority. I’m happy to say that some of these terms are on things that I’ve had in the back of my mind for a while, so this will give me the impetus to do them. Take care everybody, and keep your pencils sharp.

3 Comments

  1. Chase says:

    Hi Jason,

    Just to let you know, Long Island didn’t have any dinosaurs as it is a giant glacial deposit formed by the deposition of debris and rising sea levels around 20,000 years ago. What might be interesting is talking about the Ice Age fauna nearby. Let me know if you’d like any help in researching.

    Cheers,

    Chase

    • jrabdale says:

      I already know about the lack of Mesozoic material on Long Island – I occasionally volunteer at a museum devoted to the natural history of Long Island. In fact, I was going to open that article, when or if I ever get around to it, by saying something like “I’m sorry to disappoint you, but there were no dinosaurs on Long Island because Long Island didn’t exist until the age of Mammals”, or something to that regard.

      I’m actually more interested in doing an article on the paleo-art portrayals of lacrimal horns on theropod dinosaurs. I think it would be a good companion piece to that article which I wrote some time ago about the rampant depiction of osteoderms in theropod paleo-art…when so far only two species are known to have had them.

      Considering that one of my soon-to-be projects is on Alamosaurus, a titanosaur, I’ve been wondering if I should depict it with Saltasaurus-like osteoderms, or instead leave it bare-backed. Any suggestions?

      • Chase says:

        Well, we now know that titanosaur osteoderm configuration and morphology differed in some ways in different species. I’m no where near an expert on sauropod body armor-none have been found from Appalachia. I’d say to do some research on sauropod body armor and then put that info into a published phylogeny to see what you’d come up with.

        Cheers,

        Chase

Leave a Reply

