Home » History » My book “Four Days in September” to be re-published as a 2nd edition

My book “Four Days in September” to be re-published as a 2nd edition

Categories

Archives

Hello all,

In May 2013, my first book Four Days in September: The Battle of Teutoburg was published by Trafford Publishing, based in Indiana, USA. I’m happy to say that my book has been taken up by a British publishing company specializing in military history called Pen & Sword Books. My book will be re-published as a new and improved updated 2nd Edition sometime around late March 2016. I should state that this is a provisional date – the actual date of publishing could be earlier or later depending on how smoothly the publishing process goes.

I’ve heard it said that authors should never read reviews of their work to avoid hurting their feelings in case the reviews are bad, but I avidly read my reviews. I got a lot of feedback from people who read my book, including ordinary history buffs and professional historians, and I listened to what they liked and didn’t like about it. So, I revised my manuscript based upon their suggestions. I corrected mistakes that I made (both in terms of incorrect info as well as the mountain of spelling errors that slipped through the editing process), and I added in new information which I did not have at the time. The new edition will be the most accurate account to date about that fateful battle in the year 9 AD.

Granted, the publishing process is still going on, and there are lots of matters that need to be addressed. The cover design still has not been finalized although the publishing staff has a rough idea about how it will look, we haven’t even started the editing process yet, and the index hasn’t been made. Hopefully, things will be concluded on schedule.

That’s all that I have to say for now on this matter.

Leave a Reply

