Home » History » Four Days in September – One year anniversary

Four Days in September – One year anniversary

Categories

Archives

Today is May 2 – my birthday. Last year, I got perhaps the best birthday present ever: my book. It took six months non-stop to write it. It took me four aggrevating and frustrating years to get it published. Then, last year in January 2013, Trafford Publishing made me an offer that I couldn’t refuse. On May 2, my birthday, my book Four Days in September: The Battle of Teutoburg was officially published.

I find it hard to believe that a whole year has passed since that day. Time sure flies, doesn’t it?

I’m even more surpised that the book has sold as well as it has. People began buying it right away, literally the very week that it came out. There was a big Christmas rush on my book in December 2013 – my sales actually doubled! Not too many first-time writers, especially ones that write scholarly texts, can claim that they had a “Christmas rush” on their book. My book has been reviewed by one professional historian in Scotland, who was very impressed with my work and stated that he especially liked my analysis of Germanic tribal society. My book has also been reviewed on the British version of Amazon, where two people say some very lovely things. It has also begun generating a bit of debate online. My book is being mentioned in online history forums and on blogs! So far, I have been hearing nothing but praise and compliments. I’ve even been getting compliments just on the book’s title!!!

For anyone out there who purchased a copy, either hard or in electronic form, thank you.

Leave a Reply

